Year in the life of a Fresher

A blog outlining a year in the life of a first time university student

Before I go… September 27, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Sarah @ 11:04 pm

I was planning on starting this blog from the day I arrive until the day I leave, however after much deliberation, I thought it might give a better picture if I started a little beforehand. So it is now three days until I embark into the big wide world all on my own for the first time. I am going to be a country girl from a small school, venturing into a city. Luckily the university is a campus based one, so it shouldn’t be too overwhelming…I hope!

Anyway, I just wanted say how I feel about leaving. Mostly I am actually nervous. I am also excited, but especially as my time at home runs out, I am mainly feeling the nerves now. I suppose these are the same sort of nerves which come with starting anything new; what if I don’t make friends, what if I get lost, what if I’m homesick, what if I hate the course? Well, as these were all fears I got upon starting secondary school (maybe not the last two so much) the rational part of me is saying not to worry. I have had these fears before and everything has been fine. Why would I not make friends…I am a nice person. If you are worried about getting lost…leave a bit earlier each day until you get used to the place. Why would you feel homesick…you haven’t before. Why wouldn’t you like the course…it sounds great. However fear and anxiety sadly don’t come from the rational part of me, but rather the irrational part. Sadly the irrational part also seems to control my dreams, because I have been having a few sleepless nights lately.

Anyway, as my departure approaches, I thought it apt to share these concerns, because in a way they are a major part of the whole going to university experience! Anyway, I am going to spend the next few days packing and worrying, and should update when I arrive, or a few days after. So wish me luck!

 

Leave a Reply

